The Fox River Ecosystem Partnership (FREP) was formed in 1996 after the Illinois Department of Natural Resources (IDNR) designated a core of high-quality ecological resources in the northern-most watershed as a "Resource Rich Area".  Portions of eleven counties, including Lake, McHenry, Kane, Kendall and LaSalle, form the Fox River watershed, which is home to 11% of the state's population. 

The watershed contains the Fox Chain O'Lakes (one of the nation's busiest inland waterways), many high quality Natural Areas, and suburban areas with some of the highest growth rates in the state.  The Partnership is a diverse group, made up of landowners, businesses, non-profit organizations, agencies and governments within the Fox River Watershed region.

In 1998 FREP began a comprehensive planning process, identifying 16 critical factors and 6 areas of concern.  The result was the Integrated Management Plan for the Fox River Watershed in Illinois that makes 35 recommendations for action.
Map of Entire Fox River Watershed, including headwaters in Wisconsin
Meetings & Noon Networks
FREP members and interested persons are invited to attend all Membership Meetings, generally held on a bimonthly basis, on the second Wednesday at 1 PM.
January, May, July (summer event), September, November. Programs of interest to the membership and watershed community are presented at each meeting. Since 2013, instead of a March meeting, everyone has been encouraged to attend the Fox River Summit in Wisconsin.

FREP Noon Networks are held in the alternating months on the second Wednesday, from Noon-1:30 PM to feature environmental projects throughout the Watershed. Generally, February, April, June, August, and September. FREP members and the general public are invited to bring a lunch and learn more about a project and actually visit the project site and talk to those involved.

Meetings and Noon Networks are hosted by FREP members at various locations throughout the Watershed. Check the Activities/News page for our meeting schedule. 

The monthly DOWNSTREAM membership newsletter is sent out by email and can also be read on the Website HERE.
Organizational Structure
The Fox River Ecosystem Partnership is a 501(c)3 not for profit organization.  The Executive Committee  consists of the President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary, Past President, Advisors, and Ex Officio members. 

FREP Officers are elected by majority vote at an annual meeting. (The January Membership Meeting)
Contact Information
Communications Manager:  
Becky Hoag, at 630/482-9157  
Mailing Address:  Fox River Ecosystem Partnership
c/o 1281 Danforth Drive, Batavia, IL 60510
2017 Officers, Members of Executive Committee
Jeff Mengler, Hey and Associates, President
Maggie Soliz, Applied Ecological Services,
   Vice President
Andrea Cline, Geosyntec Consultants, Secretary  
Elizabeth Hagen-Moeller, Kane-DuPage Soil & Water
   Conservation District, Treasurer
Elizabeth Hagen-Moeller, Past President

  Janice Hill, Kane County Development Department  
  Rob Linke, Kane County Div. of Environmental &
   Water Resources 
  Elizabeth Hagen-Moeller
   Kane-DuPage Soil & Water Conservation District  
Government Relations   Webpage
  Katie Parkhurst, Village of Algonquin 
  Jeff Mengler, Hey and Associates
  Holly Hudson,
   Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP)
National Water Trail Initiative
  Karen Ann Miller, Kane County Development Dept.
Water Resources 
  Dan Lobbes, The Conservation Foundation

Representative to Fox River Study Group
  Megan Andrews, Kendall County Soil & Water
   Conservation District

Ex-Officio Members
Bill Donnell, City of Aurora
Cindy Skrukrud, Sierra Club
Tim Pollowy, Hey and Associates
John Church, The Conservation Foundation
Becky Hoag, FREP Communications Manager
Nancy Williamson, Ecosystem Administrator, IDNR